The planning commission shall consist of nine members, two of whom shall reside outside the city limits and within a limit of three miles from the city limits. The members of the planning commission shall be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the other city councilmembers.  The members of the commission first appointed shall serve respectively for terms of one year, two years, and three years, divided equally or as nearly equal as possible between these terms as one, two and three years.  Thereafter members shall be appointed for terms of three years each.  Vacancies shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term only.  Members of the commission shall serve without compensation for their service. 

(K.S.A. 12-702; Ord. 816, Sec. 2; Code 1991)

The powers and duties of the planning commission shall be as established by the Kansas Statutes Annotated. 

(Code 1991)

The members of the city planning commission shall meet within two weeks following their appointment and organize by selection of one of their members a chairperson and one as vice-chairperson, who shall serve one year and until his or her successor has been selected and qualified.  The city planning commission shall meet thereafter at least once each month at such time and place as it may fix by resolution.  Special meetings may be called by the chairperson or in his or her absence by the vice-chairperson.  A majority of such commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.  The commission shall cause a proper record to be kept of all the proceedings. 

(K.S.A. 12-703; Code 1991)

All members of the commission shall serve without compensation, but they may be reimbursed for their expenses actually incurred in the performance of their duties. 

(K.S.A. 12-702; Code 1991)

No member of the commission shall be removed during his or her term of office, except for cause, and after a hearing held before the governing body by whom he or she was appointed, or in case of disqualification by moving out of the city, or by moving out of the area represented by him or her on the planning commission.

(Code 1991)